Posted in Must Reads!

How My Life With Christ Began

Everyone’s household is different. Children are raised either with or without the knowledge of Christ and what He did for us. I was raised in a Christian home and the youngest of six kids. My first time in a church was as an infant, just as it was for my brothers and sisters.

My earliest memories of Christ began when I was about three or four. I had a Children’s bible that had a few pictures. I loved looking at the pictures but there were two that were my favorites. The first was Jesus surrounded by little children and the second was Jesus dying on the cross. I remember looking intently at both pictures. I wondered what it must have been like to be one of those children who saw Jesus and were welcomed by Him and got to sit on his lap. Then I cried while looking at Jesus nailed to the cross. I was sad he died but happy He loved me so much to sacrifice his life to forgive my sins and ultimately save me from eternal death. I remember feeling wonderful that He loved me so much.

Some children have invisible friends. I did too and His name was Jesus. I couldn’t see Him but He was/is very real. I sang my own songs to Him and pretended he was playing with me.

At a very early age, I learned that Jesus was/is the source of all things good and positive. He was the source I held onto through rough times and still do today.

I loved Sunday school! I was so fascinated by the Bible stories I learned, enjoyed the worship songs and took such joy in learning about our Savoir as well as those who served God like Moses, Abraham, Noah and David.

Every Sunday we went to church both in the morning and in the evening. There was one evening when I was seven years old, I remember feeling so happy when I thought of Jesus and I had recently learned that I could have Him in my life forever. I couldn’t imagine anything greater! It was at that moment I realized I did want to live my life for Jesus. Of course, I didn’t have a full understanding of what that meant, but it didn’t matter. Perhaps it was that child-like faith. Thinking of Jesus just made me so happy that someone could love me so much that I couldn’t imagine a life without Him. I gave my life to Christ that evening and was baptized a few years later at ten years old.

I have been through many trials since then, including losing my mother to cancer when I was seventeen, but I kept my faith and trusted Christ would see me through them. I didn’t know how things were going to turn out, but I knew He did and I had to leave things in His hands. It’s having faith and hope in Jesus that has brought me through so much.

I don’t know where I would be without Jesus in my life and that’s something I don’t even think about. It’s a scary thought. I just know my life is better with Him in it. I have hope because of Him and the courage to step out in faith to do things I am called to do even if I am afraid. I love having His guidance in my life because I know His direction will lead me down the right path in compliance with His will.

I have grown a lot spiritually since I was saved. Even when I got old enough to fully grasp what following Christ mean, which is to love others and live a life of service and to reach out to others, I still knew I wanted to follow Him. There was no other options for me. I am happy and joyful in Christ.

I know not everyone starts out with early knowledge of Christ. We are all called at different times. Some of us are called early, some are called later in life. We never know when that time will come, but when it does, it is exciting and life changing!

Thank you for commenting on our blog.

