Posted in Must Reads!

Death Is Not The End: Part 3

Part 1      Part 2

Upon waking the next morning I thought it would be another normal day until the events of the following evening swarmed my mind. Adrenaline surged through my body. My heart now racing, I flung the covers off, got dressed and ran downstairs to see if my father had come home last night. Before I had made it downstairs, I heard my father’s voice on the phone. I wondered who he was talking to and waited as patiently as I could for him to finish his phone call.

Through the tests, the doctors discovered her gallbladder was full of stones and that was the reason Mother was throwing up bile. Mother was to undergo surgery early the following morning and she would stay another night at the hospital.

So okay, I thought that was good news in the sense the gall bladder issue would be easily solved and everything would be fine. That was not the case.

I got up early the next morning and went with my father to the local hospital. We went up to Mother’s room and waited for her; she would be coming out of surgery shortly. We waited for quite some time when Mother’s surgeon walked into the room. She told us that the surgery went well, and that if Mother had not had the surgery when she did, she would have died by the next morning. This shocked me. I had no idea how close I had come to losing my mother, but this was not all the surgeon had to say. The surgeon did some exploratory surgery, why she decided to do this I don’t know, but she found tumors lying like a blanket over my mother’s abdomen. She did a biopsy, sent it to the lab and found it to be cancerous. She said my mother didn’t know about the cancer and that she would tell Mother in a while, after she became more alert.

My mother had cancer! No! This just couldn’t be! God, please say this isn’t true. What am I going to do without my mother? Tears welled up in my eyes and I fought them back. I had to be strong for my mother. I couldn’t let her see me cry because then she would know something was wrong and I didn’t want to be the one to tell her. Besides, I had to remain positive. People have survived cancer before. Maybe my mom could too.

_______________

Stay tuned for Part IV on Thursday.

Thank you for commenting on our blog.

